Skip to content

About Home Buyers Round Table

Home buying is a stressful process that benefits from a helping hand. This fact caused founders to organize the Home Buyers Round Table of Dane County Inc. (HBRT) in December 1997 to help would-be homeowners overcome two significant barriers to home ownership:

  • Limited knowledge of the home buying process, and
  • Lenders unfamiliar with down payment assistance programs.

HBRT continues these efforts today. We strive to meet the needs of low- to moderate-income potential home buyers through education, counseling, and support of both home buyers and industry professionals, and through targeted programs that increase knowledge of the home-buying process.

We provide meaningful, current education through monthly member meetings, free education classes for potential homebuyers and annual down payment assistance training for lenders and REALTORS®. We offer Lender Down Payment Assistance Training in partnership with the Wisconsin Mortgage Bankers Association every February and Realtor Down Payment Assistance training in partnership with the REALTORS® Association of South Central Wisconsin every March.

Our Mission

The Home Buyers Round Table of Dane County is a collaboration of housing industry representatives that promote homeownership through education and counseling to low and moderate-income families.  We believe homeownership will increase family stability and financial security; stabilize and strengthen communities and neighborhoods; and generate jobs and stimulate economic growth.

Our Board Members

PRESIDENT

Laura Stanfield
Wintrust Mortgage Corp.
Lstanfield@wintrustmortgage.com  
(608) 444-5392

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Susan Fischer
Banker’s Bank
fischersL59@gmail.com
(608) 217-4896

Ruth Hackney
RASCW
ruth@wisre.com
(608) 240-2800 Ext 0207

Doug Dalsing
Testudo LLC
doug@testudoonline.com
(608) 205-8025

Joanna Cervantes
Dane County Department of Human Services
cervantes.joanna@countyofdane.com
(608) 283-1382

Juliana Burda
Habitat for Humanity of Dane County
jburda@habitatdane.org
(608) 255-1549 Ext 109

Julian Walters
Urban League of Greater Madison
julianwalters02@gmail.com
(608) 235-5837

Maria Davila
City of Madison Community Development
mdavila-martinez@cityofmadison.com          (608) 266-6557

Dave Van Beckum
Provisor Home Lending
dave@provisor.com
(608) 227-2003

Connie Hilla
Coldwell Banker Success
chilla@cbsuccess.com
(608)703-9744

Jake Johnson
Mad City Dream Homes
Jake@madcitydreamhomes.com
(608) 215-3627

Home Buyers Round Table Governance

EnglishHmongEspañol